Garlic Cheddar Biscuits

Last weekend I was enjoying the random burst of energy I had. As most of you pregnant ladies know these days can be few and far between, especially in the first trimester!

We had beautiful weather and spent the day getting our yard all ready for spring, even getting a start on some seeds indoors!

Mike took the responsibility of making dinner and I decided (while staring at our milk calendar) that I would try out this month’s recipe, it would go well with his salmon and veggies! ( not to mention the fact that once I see something these days I MUST have it!)

It was my first time making biscuits and I have to say I was really happy with the result! I rolled the dough a little thinner than the recipe calls for, which made mine smaller but the taste was just as good! I will be making these again ASAP!

Garlic and Cheddar Biscuits

Ingredients

2 Cups flour
2 Tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp cream of tartar
1/2 tsp sugar
1/2 salt
1/2 Cup cold butter/ cubed
1 Cup shredded cheddar cheese
1/3 Cup chopped green onions
1 Cup Milk

topping
2 Tbsp butter, melted
1/4 tsp garlic powder

Pre heat oven to 450

In a large bowl combine the flour, baking powder,cream of tartar, sugar and salt.

Using a pastry blender or two knives, cut in butter until crumbly.

Stir in cheese and green onions

Slowly add the milk stirring with a fork, until the batter reaches a soft dough consistency.

On a lightly floured surface, knead the dough 3 or 4 times until it holds together. Roll out to 3/4 inch thickness.

Cut into squares or use a cookie cutter for fun shaped biscuits!

Place at least 2 inches apart on a prepared baking sheet!

20140417-102745.jpg

topping

In a small bowl combine melted butter and garlic powder; brush biscuits with half the mixture.

Bake for 12 min or until starting to brown. Brush with remaining butter mixture.

Bake for an additional 2 or 3 min or until golden brown.

Best served warm!!

20140417-103052.jpg

20140417-103107.jpg

I would say they turned out pretty well for my first ever try!!

Try them out this weekend, they would be a perfect addition to your Easter dinner!!

Enjoy!
Fran

Comments

  1. Dear Fran, These biscuits look so good! I love making dinner biscuits. I will have to give these a try. I will be pinning. Have a blessed Easter weekend, Catherine

  2. Mouthwatering!

  3. These look so yummy! I can’t wait to whip up a big batch and freeze the leftovers!

Leave a Reply

