Shrimp pasta with lemon butter sauce

Making dinner every night can be a challenge and honesty it can get pretty boring. I find myself making the same things over and over again. Mainly because they are things that Frankie will eat without sitting at the table for an hour arguing with me!

I see the look on Mike’s face when he gets home, ” oh (insert one of my 5 main dishes on rotation) again….”  Sorry Mike!

We recently discovered Frankie loves shrimp, and what kid doesn’t like pasta? So I had a starting point! 

I really wasn’t in the mood for tomato sauce, so the experiment began. 

I was really happy with the final product and so was everyone else, especially Frankie who asked for seconds!!! Once I picked myself up off the floor after fainting from that request, I decided everyone should try this recipe out!

Shrimp with lemon butter sauce

1 lb raw peeled shrimp

4 cloves of garlic minced

Zest of one lemon

Juice of half a lemon

1 Tbsp vegetable oil

3 Tbsp butter

1 tbsp basil

4oz pasta of your choice

Grated Parmesan for serving

Place your shrimp in a bowl and add half of your chopped garlic, the lemon zest and vegetable oil. Stir everything together making sure shrimp are well coated and let marinate while you continue.

Cook your pasta, until just before done. About 1 minute before package directions say.

During the last 5 minutes of pasta cooking, heat your butter in a large skillet until it starts to bubble.

Add the remaining garlic and sauté about 30 seconds, add your shrimp with the marinade and lemon juice continue to cook until shrimp are just turning pink.

Add basil and mix well.

Reserve 1/4 cup of your pasta water, then drain your pasta and add it directly to the pan. Quickly stir to combine and allow both the shrimp and pasta to continue cooking until done.

If sauce does not completely coat pasta add the reserved pasta water until to your liking, discard the rest.

Serve topped with Parmesan cheese.



It’s a quick and easy recipe that everyone will love!

Enjoy,

xo Fran

Comments

  1. Hi! Just checking out your blog… well done! I’m a new blogger myself. I look forward to following your posts 🙂
    ~Liz (Project Pastry Love)
    PS. I wish I were eating that shrimp and pasta dish right now!

  2. my sister would love this! I like that its not as heavy as an alfredo based dish, but still has all the comfort food goodness. She always orders dishes like this when we go out to eat! Thanks for sharing at ‘Tell em Tuesday’!
    xoxo K
    http://peeledwellness.com

  3. Yes please! Love shrimp. This looks so appetizing!

    BreAnna | Crafty Coin
    Real Food on a Real Budget

  4. This looks so yummy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

