Easy Baked Chicken Meatballs 

Around here, if you say the words pasta and meatballs a certain little boy’s eyes will light up!  Ok, ok mine too…..

Since I’ve been trying to improve my eating habits (and lose those last 10 pounds of baby weight!) I’ve come up with a recipe that tastes just as good as traditional meatballs, but are much healthier and way lighter. 

I used extra lean ground chicken in this recipe, but you can also use ground turkey if you choose. I also bake them instead of frying, you could fry them if you wanted. They would just be a little less healthy that way.

Easy Baked Chicken Meatballs

1/4 cup breadcrumbs

2 Tbsp onion, chopped

1 Tbsp fresh chopped parsley

1/2 cup Parmesan cheese

1 tsp dried basil

3/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp black pepper

2 cloves of garlic minced ( I used my garlic press)

1 1/4 lb ground chicken

1 large egg beaten

1. Preheat oven to 400, line a baking sheet with foil and spray with nonstick cooking spray.

2. Put all ingredients into a large bowl and mix until well combined, try not to over mix.

  

3. Form mixture into balls with your hands, I used about 1 1/2 Tbs per ball. Place them on your baking sheet at least an inch apart.

  

4. Bake for about 15 minutes, or until are golden brown and cooked through.

These can be served with the sauce of your choosing. I usually make them with  pasta and homemade tomato sauce. I like to add them into the pot when they come out of the oven to add more flavour to the sauce!

  

You can also make these ahead of time and freeze them:

Prepare them as usual, then let the meatballs cool to room temp.

Place the meatballs on a baking sheet and place into the freezer until they are solid. 

Then transfer them into a ziplock bag to store in the freezer. 

When preparing from frozen, defrost meatballs in the oven for 20 mins then cook for 15 mins at 350. Or add them directly from the freezer into your pasta sauce while its cooking!

Enjoy! 

Fran 

Comments

  1. These look fantastic! I’m not big on traditional meatballs with red pasta sauce- this is a nice change of pace! Thanks for sharing at the link up today!
    xoxo K
    http://peeledwellness.com

  2. I’m so glad I found your blog! My little one will love these!

  3. This looks so tasty, I always make beef meatballs but going to give this a try, thank you for sharing. Also thank you for stopping by my blog.

Trackbacks

  1. […] If you need another easy idea for a make ahead freezer meal, check out my easy baked chicken meatballs here: https://thehungryhomemakerblog.wordpress.com/2015/04/06/easy-baked-chicken-meatballs/ […]

Leave a Reply

