You know you’re a mom when…..

Mother’s Day is right around the corner!

It’s a day to show that special lady in your life, ( the one that gave you life.)

How much you care! To shower her with love and gifts and thank her for everything she has done for you!  

my mother and I

Before becoming a mother myself I heard stories of puke and poop, never ending questions, boogers, and temper tantrums. Not to mention the kisses, cuddles, giggles and unconditional love!

 

The ones that made me a mommy

This post is dedicated to mothers everywhere.

Mother’s Day will be filled with plenty of sentimental moments. This post isn’t one of them. I’ve asked some fellow moms and bloggers to share the mommy moments that we’ve all had! No matter who you are, we’ve all been there.

So sit back with your lukewarm coffee, tighten your mom bun, pull up your yoga pants and try to find a spot where there are no toys to have a seat. Enjoy a laugh or two on us and enjoy the many moments that make motherhood….. Interesting.

First I’ll share mine, you know your a mom when:

Your outfit choice all depends on what clothes spit up is less likely to be noticeable on.

Your daily conversations include the phrases:

  • Stay away from the dog’s but!
  • That’s not what we do with our boogers!
  • Where did your pants go?
  • No, I don’t need a bandaid for all of the “Owies” on my face, they are pimples and I would rather not talk about them, but thanks anyway.
  • Yes Frankie, I know you have a wiener, no your sister didn’t lose hers…
  • Seriously where are your pants?

You never EVER go to the washroom alone, EVER! They will find you!

You use the word “tummy” in an adult conversation ie: ” I can’t finish this meal, my tummy is full. I think I’ll get a take out container.”


Whitney from Splendid life with Whitney shared: http://www.splendidlifewithwhitney.com

You know you’re mom when a solo trip anywhere (post office, bank, grocery store, bathroom) feels like a vacation. 

You know you’re a mom when you lay down with your child to help them take nap. Only to end up falling asleep yourself.

You know you’re the mom (of a toddler) when your child dramatically throws them-self on the floor of a department store and you’re more concerned about surviving the rest of the shopping trip than with your child laying on the dirty floor.

 

 
Holly From Holly Housewife Life shared: Http://www.hollyshousewifelife.blogspot.ca 

You hear so many stories before you become a mama about how ‘oh you’ll never pee alone again’ and ‘get your sleep while you still can’ but what I’m most surprised about is how quickly I adjusted to the ‘ewwwww’ factor of momma hood.
And maybe it’s because I have a son or maybe it’s because my son is just particularly gross Hahahah but I really knew I was a mom when: 

– picking someone else’s boogies no longer disgusts me, actually it feels super rewarding to finally get that sucker!!

– eye gunk, ear wax, toe jam, belly button lint… Just doing the daily rounds.

– something slimy and weird came out of somewhere… and there’s no wipes or bibs in arms reach, just wipe it on my clothes or the babes. (We’re both desperately in need of bathing anyway! Count down to bath time is on)

– you will kiss a spitty, slobbery, foody, sticky face all over without hesitation. (Because come on, that face is the cutest)

– finally, I don’t think this needs any explanation, one word. Poop. Everywhere. All the time. (Ok I added words hehe)

Happy Mother’s Day to all the lovely mommas out there, may your babies sleep in and you have a good hair day! (That’s my hope for this Mother’s Day anyway, a girl can dream :)))


Amanda Baldwin of Green Tea + Cotton shared:
www.greenteaandcotton.com
www.etsy.com/shop/GreenTeaandCotton

Raising 3 boys, and now a daughter, there have been a number of phrases that have left my mouth that never even crossed my mind before having children.  Here are my top 10:

1.  Stop smacking your brother’s butt!

2.  Armpit farts are only funny when we are at home.

3.  Did you brush your teeth?  Did you!?  Let me smell your breath!

4.  How did you even get up there?

5.  Little Miss, no you can’t pull your brother’s penis.  (Yes.  I did utter those words after my daughter yanked her older brother’s penis in the bath tub.  She was almost a year old! Curiosity starts young and I guess she wondered why something was dangling from him. His look was priceless and her meltdown sealed the deal on the hilarious factor!)

6.  Stop picking your toe jam…nevermind…just go take a bath.

7.  I swear….if one of you interrupts me one more time while I’m trying to use the bathroom…heaven help your souls!

8.  It’s just lettuce!  It won’t kill you!  (As the 4 year old is overly dramatic in his hate for even a tiny piece of lettuce on his sandwich or burger or plate!)

9.  I never knew poop could ride up so far out of a diaper.

10.  Ew…ew…ew.. stop putting the dog food in the water and eating it!


Motherhood is filled with hilarious moments.  Write them down because one day, they will make you smile!  Plus you’ll get some good blackmail moments 
from them.

 
Tami from Mama Sugs shared:
 

Helen from Mama’s baby steps shared: https://mamasbabysteps.wordpress.com/

I’m a Mommy to a 3.5 year old boy, and a 21 month old girl.  My story about “you know you’re a Mom when” is a little more serious than funny …This question for me is easy to answer. When I found out I was pregnant with my son, I remember feeling so many emotions: excitement, joy, happiness, love, and fear. The last emotion was probably the one that really made me feel like a Mom, and here is why. When you are pregnant, you constantly worry. You worry about what you put in your body, what you put on your body, you worry about miscarrying, youworry about there being something wrong with the baby. You worry about making it to the next trimester, you worry when you go hours without feeling a kick; but feel relief the second you feel that tiny punch or the beautiful sound of a beating heart. You worry about child birth, and everything that goes along with it. I asked my Mom while pregnant with him: “Mom. When do you stop worrying?” “You don’t, because you’re a Mom now.” She was right.



Thank you so much ladies for sharing your stories! 

Please do yourselves a favour and check out their blogs, they are all amazing and you really are missing out if you don’t! 


I think we can all agree that motherhood is never boring! It’s full of highs and lows that we will never take for granted. 

The moments that make us feel like we’re going crazy today will be the basis for many funny stories in the future. All too quickly our crazy little ones won’t be so little anymore. 

On this Mother’s Day I will enjoy my breakfast in bed, presents, hugs and kisses. With a side of temper tantrums, Lego foot of injuries, poopy diapers and spit up.

 I’ll keep a smile on my face the whole time, you know why? 

Because I’m a mom and if you ask me, there’s no better thing in the word!

 (Ok so I lied, this got pretty sentimental) 

An early Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms out there, 

Enjoy your day!

xo Fran


Comments

  1. Oh my gosh this made my day!!!!!
    Laughing and crying!!
    It’s all so so so true!!!
    This is such a great post I’m sharing it everywhere 🙂

  2. These are awesome! And everything is so true. This is what parenting books need to be filled with!

  3. Too funny! It’s always nice to know you’re not alone in this crazy, messy place called motherhood 🙂

  4. I loved this post, super fun! Have said/thought/done most of these myself. 🙂

  5. Love this!!

  6. These are great! I often wonder how long I will be calling the bathroom the potty. LOL

  7. Oh I love this so much!!! I can’t believe I’ll be a mom for mother’s day this year!! It’s so fun reading things like this because very very soon it will be my life! It’s something i’ve looked forward to for as long as I can remember and it’s almost here. There are so many people that make it sound like this terrible, life ended thing but I’m so glad I’ve found a great group of women that aren’t afraid to share the good, the bad, and the….gross haha

  8. I can relate to all of the above, I think the pinnacle for me was when my husband called me “mummy” when it was just the two of us in a posh restaurant, the worst thing was it didn’t seem strange until the waiter looked at both of as if we were aliens – Amy

    http://www.thetwosavingsisters.com

  9. haha these were amazing! All so true! and whenever me and my hubby go on a date, all we talk about is our son & poop & his eating LOL its hilarious! Like, what did we ever talk about before we had a kid!!!

  10. Yes, yes, 100 times yes!

  11. oh my, I think I’ve experienced all of the above in my childcare career and motherhood. 😀

  12. Oh yes, I think I’ve experienced all of the above in my childcare career and motherhood. 😀

  13. Haha I am not a mum (yet!) but I was a nanny for a year to 3 toddlers and this made me laugh so much!!!

  14. Love this! So true!

  15. Thanks so much for linking up with us for The Monthly Meet Up! We sure do appreciate it, girl! Oh and Ummm…these were hilarious! I feel as though I’ve said all of these things. LOL! Going to the bathroom alone…I can’t even remember, in fact, I just graduated from holding my youngest whilst I use the porcelain throne! The thought of me disappearing for 1.5 minutes was unbearable! LOL! I wouldn’t change a thing. 🙂 Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

