Mexican rice wraps

I would first like to start this post out on a personal note:

To my sisters,

 I am posting this recipe for everyone to enjoy. Yes, I would like everyone to have this quick and versatile recipe for their families to enjoy. There is another reason for this post…… Now you both have the recipe, now you can make it for yourselves, now the guilt trips can end! ( yes it will still taste the same, Lisa)

Back to the post,

I came up with this recipe when I was in high school. Both of our parents worked and most nights I would be responsible for dinner. Not every meal I came up with is share worthy. Some I’m sure we would love to never speak of again! 

This one has stayed the test of time. It’s so easy that I guarantee you’ll make over and over again. It’s a nice alternative to taco night and a good option for a meat free meal, but just as filling! 

I’ve made them with chicken instead of black beans but enjoy it better this way. 

Once you make the initial mixture, you can eat it as is. You can make into a burrito, put it in a tortilla with your favourite taco toppings. Or even smother it with grated cheese between two tortillas and make it into a quesadilla.

There are never any arguments from anyone at the dinner table when this is served. As you can tell by my special message at the beginning, its a big hit with the whole family!

Mexican Rice Wraps

  • 4 medium peppers (any color, I like to use all different colours)
  • 1 medium red onion
  • 1 cup of salsa (whatever you like) I use mild
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup rice (I used brown)
  • 1 Tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1/2 pack of taco seasoning
  • 1 can of black beans
  1. Chop your peppers and onion into thin strips and set aside, open your can of black beans and rinse.

  
2. In a large frying pan or wok heat your oil, add your peppers and onion. Sauté until halfway cooked.

3. Add your taco seasoning and continue cooking 1 minute, making sure everything is evenly coated. 

4. Add the salsa, water and rice. Mix well and continue cooking until rice is almost cooked. About 10 minutes.

5. Add your black beans and continue to cook until rice is done and has absorbed most of the liquid. 

  
What you do with it once it’s done is up to you!

Honesty it so simple it ridiculous, but it’s sooo good! 

We try to go meat free a few times a week and when this one goes into the rotation, I can always guarantee there will be no leftovers! 

Try it out,  you can do it I promise! (Cough… Cough… Josie and Lisa)

Enjoy,

Fran 

Comments

  1. Looks great.
    If you dare to play…You have been nominated for Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award
    https://coffeepot.wordpress.com/2015/05/11/oh-my-i-was-nominated/

Leave a Reply

