Frankie and Momma’s Pizzeria (no fail dough recipe) 

Things have been pretty hectic around here. Emilia is teething making her wanting to have my attention even more so than usual. (Which is already a lot!) I find myself giving her most of my attention during the day, while Frankie plays by himself or tries to “help”. 

I go to bed those nights and cry. I feel so guilty on those days, I don’t want him to feel like he’s not important or that I love his sister more. So I’ve made a conscious effort to do something special with him everyday, no matter what !

Things are going to get even busier in a few weeks when he starts his first year of T ball and continues swimming lessons from last year! So I just want to make sure we have a little time just the two of us, to be together and let him know that I still want to be “fwends” with him just like before! 

Wednesday night we made pizzas! Frankie had a blast! We used a super easy dough recipe that I’ve always used, and it’s never let me down!  Frankie loved putting on all of the toppings and saying we were “expert pizza guys!” I saw how happy he was just to be doing something together. We could have been doing anything at all, and I know the reaction would be the same.

  

When they were ready, he sat down and ate two pieces! He was raving about the great job we did. When Mike walked through the door after work, Frankie was so excited for him to try the pizza he and momma had made! 

He’s almost 4 and so independent. I think of it as both a blessing and a curse. He can play so well on his own and doesn’t really need much from me, besides the occasional snack or cup of water. While I’m busy going through the motions of the day I find he sometimes gets lost in the chaos of a cranky teething baby. 

I know I’m not alone, many mothers find it hard to juggle the needs of two little ones. I guess I just needed a little time to find my own rhythm. I’m glad I gave myself this little wake up call and I know this will make BOTH of us much happier!

So look out for more of the fun things we’ll be doing together! I have many craft ideas and recipes that we’ll be doing in the coming days! 

If you want to be an “expert pizza guy”, here’s the recipe for this no fail pizza dough. 

Pizza Dough

  • 1 1/2 Cups warm water
  • 2 Tbsp sugar
  • 1 packet of active dry yeast
  • 3 3/4 Cups flour
  • 3 Tbsp olive oil
  1. Combine water, sugar and yeast in a small bowl. Let sit to activate yeast for 5 minutes. 
  2. In a separate bowl, combine flour and salt, add olive oil to the yeast mixture. Pour yeast mixture into dry ingredients. Knead in mixer with dough hook on low for 10 minutes (or by hand) .
  3. Place dough in a lightly oiled bowl, turning dough in bowl so it’s coated in the oil. Cover with plastic wrap and let rise in a warm place for one hour.
  4. Push dough down and divide in half. Shape dough into 2 balls, lightly brush dough balls with olive oil and cover with plastic wrap. Let rise for another 45 minutes.
  5. Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Lightly grease two pizza pans. On a lightly floured surface roll dough to desired size. 
  6. Top with toppings off your choice, bake 10-15 minutes until edges of dough are golden brown.

Enjoy,

Fran 

Comments

  1. i will have to try this recipe!!!

  2. I’m a mum of two and totally understand what you’re going through- she who screams loudest gets the attention 9 times out of 10 unfortunately! But I try and remember that my eldest had my undivided attention up until she was two and it’s good for her to be more independent! Anyway this recipe looks great, we quite often make pizza using pastry but this looks much better thanks I can’t wait to try it! X

  3. I like how simple this recipe is- I have tried a few in the past that were just too much work! Thanks for linking up on Tuesday!
    Kim
    http://peeledwellness.com

  4. This is too cute 🙂 My son is 19 months and getting closer to the age where we can do fun stuff like this together 🙂

Leave a Reply

