Spaghetti Carbonara

These days dinner time has been the time of the day I dread! Almost every night it ends with me in an argument with Frankie. He either refuses to finish his meal, or takes so long to finish that by the time it’s over I’m literally counting down the minutes until bedtime! 

The little boy who ate anything without a problem, has now turned into the kid that hates everything! 

So imagine my surprise Thursday night when we sat down to eat dinner and there was no sounds to be heard. All I could hear was the sound of his fork, then…. Out of no where came ” this is sooooo yummy momma!” 

Wait…. What? Who are you? Where is my son?  

Clean plate, no fighting, he even got a treat for dessert!  We were both happy by the end of our meal! 

Thursday nights Mike works a little later. He doesn’t get home in time for dinner, and usually eats at work. On those nights I try to make something a little quicker. I had some bacon in the fridge so I decided to make a recipe I hadn’t made for a while. (Boy am I glad I did!!) 

If you need a quick weeknight recipe that sure to please even the pickiest eater, (I speak from experience) try this one out! You’ll have a delicious dish in 30 mins or less! 

 

Spaghetti Carbonara 

  • 1lb spaghetti 
  • 1/2 large onion, diced.
  • 1/2 lb bacon, diced
  • 5 eggs
  • 1/4 Cup milk
  • 1/4 parmesean cheese
  • 1 tsp black pepper 
  1. Bring a pot of salted water to boil.
  2. While waiting for the water to boil, cook bacon in a large pan over medium heat. Cook until almost crispy. Add the onion and continue to cook until bacon is crispy and onion is translucent.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk together eggs, milk, parmesean cheese and pepper until well blended. Set aside.
  4. Cook pasta according to package instructions, until al dente.
  5. When pasta is ready, drain and quickly return pasta to the hot pot. While stirring pasta, pour the egg mixture into the pot and continue to mix until the egg mixture is cooked into the pasta. 
  6. Add in bacon and onion and toss until mixed well.

That’s it! 

It’s a classic dish that’s always been one of my favourites. Now that I know Frankie loves it I’ll be making it a lot more often! Anything to make dinner time a little easier! 

Enjoy!

Fran                                                                                                                                       

Comments

  1. Well no wonder he liked it – since it’s an incredibly delicious pasta! Good job 🙂

  2. a couple of my favorite things – bacon and pasta! definitely making this this week! great recipe 🙂

  3. Ok this looks delish and I think I may be able to pull it together!

    I dread dinner time but for a totally different reason – I can’t cook!! Lololol

    Elliott eats EVERYTHING and anything these days I hope that never changes! But he could dial it down a notch because I’m spending wayyy too much on groceries lol

    • I learned out of necessity lol! Mike can’t cook so it was either I learned or we starved! I hope Elliot never changes either, it’s no fun dealing with a picky guy!
      Wow if he’s eating so much now wait until he’s 16 lmao!!

  4. This looks AMAZING. Just might have to make this for dinner tonight. Thanks for sharing!

  5. Definitely will have to try this! Love bacon and pasta! Thanks for the recipe.

  6. This looks so good, may have to try it this weekend!!!

  7. So yummy and easy! Thanks for a great recipe!

  8. This looks wonderful! Lynn visiting from Mom Bloggers, love your site!

  9. wifemummynurse says:

    Looks delicious!!

  10. oh yummy!!!!! I will have to make this!!! always looking for easy pasta dishes that will work for the girls!!!!

  11. We love carbonara at our house! This looks awesome!

  12. Looks delicious, and simple!!! Thanks for sharing!!

  13. My mouth is watering!

  14. I think my family would love this recipe, too! Thanks for sharing it at Together on Tuesdays 🙂

  15. I hated those days with my daughter, but with bacon, cheese and pasta, hard to go wrong!

  16. Breakfast spaghetti! No kidding, when we went to Italy that was the translation they gave on the menu! I adore Spaghetti Carbonara. This looks so delicious!

  17. Love, love, love carbonara! You wouldn’t have heard a peep out of me either! 🙂

Leave a Reply

