Nutella Pull Apart Bread

As you may have learned from previous posts, Nutella is a favourite treat around here! 

It’s a staple in our house, and I’m always on the look out to find new ways to use it. 

Last week my sister graduated college after 4 years of hard work! I was so proud of her, that when she told me her only request was this dessert I really couldn’t say no! 

I’ve made cinnamon pull apart bread many times and just used the same recipe, switching out the cinnamon, butter and brown sugar for Nutella. It turned out delicious if I do say so myself! Our graduate was very pleased and that’s what was most import to me!  

 

This recipe does take a little bit of time, but the results are well worth it! 

Nutella pull apart bread

  • 3 Cups all purpose flour
  • 1/4 Cup sugar
  • 1 envelope active dry yeast 
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 4 Tbsp butter ( room temp) 
  • 1/3 Cup milk
  • 1/4 Cup water
  • 2 large eggs ( room temp)
  • 1 tsp vanilla ext

For the filling : 1 cup Nutella ( I used a bit more) use your own discretion.

  1. In a large mixing bowl mix milk, water, yeast and a pinch of sugar. Set aside until mixture is foamy. ( about 5-10 min)
  2. Using a dough hook (or by hand) stir in flour, sugar, salt, butter and eggs. Stir until combined. Keep stirring until dough is smooth, soft and sticky.
  3. Remove dough from the bowl and place it in a lightly oiled bowl. Roll dough around in bowl to coat lightly in oil. Cover with plastic wrap and light sit in a warm place for 2 hours, or until doubled in size.
  4. Roll the dough out onto a floured surface into a 12×20 rectangle. Spread the Nutella evenly over surface of dough. Then slice the dough into 6 even strips. Stack each strip on top of each other. Then cut the stack into 6 pieces and layer the stacks into a loaf pan. Cover your pan with a kitchen towel and let rise for another hour.

 

my dough before and after rising


5. Preheat oven to 350 and bake for 20 to 30 minutes, or until bread is dark golden on top.

Allow to cool for 20 minutes before serving. 

  

 

Doesn’t it look sooooo good!!! 

I’d say it’s the perfect graduation present, but I may be a little biased!

Try it out, I dare you not to eat the whole thing! I was glad this wasn’t staying in my house. I don’t think it would have lasted the day! 

Enjoy,

Fran 

Comments

  1. Omg this looks so good!! Totally going to make this!!

  2. oh my! Can I please just reach through the computer and have this? Do I have to wait to make it?!

  3. I would eat that entire pan :/
    The yeast is always the part that worries me but other than that it looks very manageable!!

    I really really want to try this, the photos are so drool
    Worthy.
    Congrats to your sister!! :))

  4. It does look very good! I’ve pinned this to try in the fall! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  5. I’m not sure what had me first… The mouth watering picture or “Nutella” 🙂 either way this looks to die for!!

  6. You, your mom, and sister are triplets!

  7. YUM. I need this now.

  8. This looks lovely!! My family would devour this!!

  9. Well I know what i’m making this afternoon!!

  10. This looks dangerously delicious! I love its marbled sort of appearance, too.

  11. Me Want! – Kat

  12. This looks sooooo good! I’m going to have to try it. You can’t beat Nutella!

  13. I love this twist on a classic! Nutella is my favourite!

  14. Oh MY goodness. My day is not complete unless I have had a spoonful or two of Nutella as a treat 🙂 This pull apart bread looks divine!

    Carrie
    curlycraftymom.com

  15. I’m going to try to make this today! Would you clarify step 4 for me a bit though?

    • Sure, once you’ve sliced the dough into strips you layer then one on top of the other. (Like multi layer sandwich) then take your pile of dough and slice that into 6 smaller piles. Then put those in your pan as pictured in my photo of the dough rising.

  16. My toddler sitting on my lap keeps saying, “I want dat one, I want dat one!!” lol

  17. KCole's Creative Corner says:

    This looks absolutely gorgeous! Great post!

  18. Oh my god that looks amazing!

  19. This looks amazing. I think I would eat the entire pan myself, lol

  20. Christy says:

    This looks a lot like real NY Chocolate Babka! I bet it is every bit as delicious too! Can’t wait to make this!

Leave a Reply

