Simple breakfast Casserole 

As many recipes as I’ve posted, or will ever post. You’ll find very few breakfast recipes. 

Why?

Simple, I can’t make breakfast food. Omelettes turn into scrambled eggs very quickly. You want a fried egg with a runny yolk? Oops sorry it’s now a mess in my frying pan… 

In our house Mike is in charge of breakfast on the weekends, and he does a great job at it! Although on certain days ( his birthday and Father’s Day) I try to be a good wife and make breakfast. In these cases I try my best to keep it as simple as possible! 

This recipe doesn’t get any easier. It was enjoyed by all of us, and I can honestly say with this recipe I might volunteer to make breakfast more often…. Maybe, I really like to sleep in so…….

 Simple Breakfast Caserole


  • 1lb sausage taken out of its casing ( I used mild Italian) 
  • 1 medium onion
  • 4 cloves of garlic ,minced
  • 6 eggs
  • 1 red pepper, diced
  • 1/3 Cup of milk 
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 2 Cups of frozen hash browns thawed
  • 2 Cups shredded cheddar cheese 
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1/2 cup green onions, sliced

Preheat oven to 375

  1. In a medium pan cook sausage on medium heat until browned. Remove sausage and transfer to a medium mixing bowl.
  2. Drain grease from pan add olive oil, onion and red pepper, cook for 5 min until mostly cooked. Add garlic and cook for another 2 minutes.
  3. Pour the vegetables into the bowl with the sausage.
  4. Add the hash browns and 1 1/2 cups of your cheese to the bowl and stir to combine well. 
  5. In another bowl whisk together eggs, milk and black pepper. 
  6. Add egg mixture to sausage mixture, stir to combine. 
  7. Pour your mixture into a baking dish, top with remaining cheese and green onions.
  8. Bake for 22 minutes, remove from oven and let sit for 5 minutes

Voila!! Breakfast is served and I didn’t ruin it!

I think it’s the perfect thing to whip up for a special weekend breakfast, or even add it on to your brunch menu! 

Quick, easy and delicious! 

Enjoy, Fran 

 
 


 

Comments

  1. I love a good breakfast casserole!

  2. Yum! I make lots of breakfast casseroles too because they’re hard to mess up….so from one unskilled breakfast maker to another- this looks great! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  3. I need to try this and see if I can get the kids to eat it. Breakfeast is our favorite meal.

  4. Yum! I love a good breakfast casserole. I’m a terrible cook, but somehow can’t screw these up too much. Thanks for the recipe.

  5. I love breakfast anything! My husband likes breakfast recipes in the morning, but I could eat breakfast for dinner any night! This looks delicious!

  6. Delicious. It also makes a good take-a-long dish for a group breakfast.

  7. This sounds amazing! Can’t wait to try it!

  8. Thanks for the recipe! It’s always nice to switch up breakfast and take a break from cereal 🙂

  9. I wish I had seen this in time for Fathers Day, my husband would have loved it! This also looks like a great one to make for when we have company in town, I’ll definitely give it a try. Thanks for sharing!

  10. My boyfriend would LOVE this! You can’t beat a great breakfast casserole. I think I will have to make it for him this weekend 🙂

  11. Looks so yummy! I, too, have relinquished control of egg making to the hubby. I can’t fry an egg to save my life, lol! Thanks for this easy recipe, and I appreciate that it has a sensible number of eggs. Some recipes call for a whole dozen, eek!

  12. Looks delicious! I can’t wait to try it!

  13. That looks amazing!! Perfect for a summer brunch! 🙂

  14. This looks AMAZING! Breakfast casserole is my hubby’s favorite food!

  15. This breakfast casserole looks amazing! I love making them on a weekend and being able to have them for breakfast each morning during the week. 🙂 Thank you for sharing!

  16. This sounds delicious! I’m glad to hear that this is easy coming from someone else whose omelettes quickly turn into scrambled eggs 😉

  17. I cannot wait to try this!! Is it good reheated the next day? It would be good to make and eat on for a couple of days during the week.

Leave a Reply

