Mommy Time

Being a stay at home mom is hard. 

I love my children with all of my heart and I truly feel blessed to be able to stay home and care for them everyday, but as I’m sure other Mommas know its hard work! 

Our days are filled with highs and lows just like everyone else’s. 

I’m a chef, doctor, teacher, maid, laundress, therapist, entertainer and referee. Not to mention I handle bio hazardous material many times during the day! (you think 7 months is too early to start potty training?)  

I’m lucky enough to have a husband that understands the work that goes into the daily life of a “Hungry Homemaker”  ha! See what I did there….. Anyway…

Mike alway says he has no idea how I do it everyday, truthfully there’s no secret. I just do.

The same way he does what needs to be done at work everyday, I get it done at home. Only, my bosses have different expectations of me.

The President of our company requires:

  • “Heymaze”  (mayonnaise) and pickles on every sandwich 
  • His bum promptly wiped when he’s done with the potty, assuming the position of bending over and grabbing his ankles. 
  • Craft time at least 3 times a week 
  • Lunch time discussions about all of the avengers and who’s the coolest one today. (It’s always the one he says it is, never go against him you’ll never hear the end of it!) 
  • All questions asked a minimum of 5 times, even after being answered

Our Vice President is much more easy going, she requires:

  • Long hair always within reach for her pulling enjoyment! (Oh you wore it up today, good thing you have bangs!)
  • Prompt pick up of all toys thrown on the ground x1000000
  • Always being within her view. (Oh you need to pee and I’m awake? No prob I’ll just come with you!)
  • Hair brushed and styled daily

I do really love my job and my bosses are great! I’m pretty sure I’m doing a good job because I constantly get my daily “bonus” of hugs and kisses! 

Here’s the thing. Once dinner is served and Mike is home from work…… I need to get away from everyone, before the bedtime routine begins!

Days are hectic and things get stressful. 

I truly believe that if you don’t take some time for yourself, you’ll lose your mind!  It can be as little as 30 minutes, but it is a must! 

I usually use this time to workout, blog, read or just do nothing. I turn the t.v on and drown out the sounds of “that’s not how momma does it!” and “I’m telling my mudder!” 

At some point, Mike will usually bring me a tea and give me that “Help me!” look. By that time I usually hear the little stomps of feet coming up the stairs, to report back to me. Also to ask if he can stay with me “for a little wild”

The other night while speaking to my mom on the phone, she was in shock to hear me receive a tea from Mike! 

“He’s down there with the kids, and he has to make you a tea too?” 

Ummmmmm yes! 

I’m with the kids all day and his dinner is made, and his clothes and home are clean. 

Is it bad that I want someone to do something for me ? 

I don’t think so. 

Hey if all I’m expecting is a tea, I think he’s getting off pretty easy if you ask me!

Anyway, my point with this post is to say that Moms, ALL moms wether they stay at home or not, and all parents for that matter need a break! We need to stop feeling  guilty. Taking that time to yourself will let you reset and I think in all honesty it will make you a better parent. 

You wanna hide in the laundry room and eat that chocolate without being mauled for it? You wanna stand in the washroom with the door closed and pretend you’re doing something? You wanna play let’s see who can be the quietest? 

Do it! 

Take those few moments to yourself, you deserve it! 

xo, Fran 

Comments

  1. i feel you and agree with you 🙂

  2. skcommand says:

    Yay you go girl! Whether you have 1 kid or 4 kids, I think it’s important for everyone to take time for yourself! If you don’t you’ll probably go crazy! I just quit my job to stay home and only have a 2 month old and I feel like it’s a full time job! My shower is definitely my away time. My husband knows to not disturb me or bring the crying baby upstairs. It helps to relax and rejuvenate me for more mommy/baby time!

  3. Yes yes yes and yes!!
    Omg the times I stretch out just an extra 5 seconds standing in the bathroom.
    I’ll even brush my teeth back to back just to extend that alone time. Lolol

    I say it to Nick all the time, I know how hard he works but I’ve literally been with Elliott every minute/second for his entire life! It’s not the same on Nicks days off because him and I are home, totally different than being all alone!

  4. Great post! I am a stay at home mom as well and some people just don’t get how hard it really is.

  5. I heart this post so much. I too am a stay at home mom. I am so glad I have a husband who is so supportive of me and my goals. Today he took charge and managed my daughter while I got to do some much needed behind the scenes blog work. But at promptly 6 o’clock he was done. He couldn’t take anymore and asked me the following things: “Do you realize how much your daughter eats?” “Do you know how many diapers she goes through in a day?” “Is she always this clingy?” “How do you get her to take naps?”

    All I ever say in reply is, “magic.”

  6. I wish all young moms realized how important Mommy Along Time is!
    Cynthia @ craftoflaughter.com

  7. This is a great post, I have done a series on my site for stay at home moms and they would love this post. Great site and I am glad to have found it on the facebook link up. I will follow your social media!

  8. I’m a SAHM too, and I enjoyed reading about the requirements of your “bosses.” 🙂 It really is a hard job and taking just a little bit of time each day for yourself is completely necessary! I’m guilty of feeling guilty when I do, but I know I need to drop that mindset and realize that it’s good for both me and my little one.

  9. HA! I love this! I work from home/stay at home and you hit the nail on the head! Love your “bosses”. LOL

  10. This post is perfect! Our “bosses” sure know how to boss, right? My space is my closet – and sometimes I let them watch movies just so I can sit in the other room and breathe! 🙂

  11. Great post thank you! Love that you call them the President and Vice President, very funny. I start to go a bit bonkers by bed time so I think you are onto something having a little break around that time, I think I will try it tomorrow x

  12. I do this all the time! When my husband is off he is doing a lot of stuff, we don’t have traditional 9-5 work days for him, more like 4:30pm-6:30am being a cop makes it hard but we make it work and sometimes I just need 5 minutes sitting on the toilet With the door locked and it is just quiet! and possibly a bath. If my kids don’t hear the water or its melt down city!

  13. Awesome post! Your family sounds wonderful and your husband a sweetheart! You deserve “me time”!

  14. This was a cool read, awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

