Our Four Go To Stir Fry Sauces

Around here Stir fry is a staple meal. It’s quick, easy and one of the things Frankie won’t fight us on.

We use chicken, beef, shrimp, pork and sometimes no meat at all. I often like to add noddles to it, or serve it over rice. Honestly I don’t think you can really mess a stir fry up!

I think the key to any really good stir fry is the sauce. We’ve tried many bottled sauces and they worked great. Although I prefer to make my own, you can experiment and be creative! Not to mention its way cheaper!!

These are the 4 recipes I use most often and they all also have the “Frankie stamp of approval” which if you’ve been around this picky guy at mealtimes lately, means a lot!!

 

Lemon Stir fry Sauce

  • 1/2 Cup lemon juice
  • 2 tsp lemon zest
  • 1/2 Cup chicken broth
  • 2 Tbsp soy sauce
  • 1/4 Cup sugar

Sweet and Sour Stir Fry Sauce

  • 1/2 Cup chicken Broth
  • 1/4 Cup soy sauce 
  • 1/4 Cup of rice wine vinegar
  • 2 Tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 tsp red pepper flakes

Orange Stir Fry Sauce

  • 1/2 Cup orange juice
  • 1/4 Cup water
  • 1/4 Cup soy sauce
  • 4 tsp brown sugar

Basic Stir Fry Sauce

  • 2/3 Cup soy sauce
  • 1/2 Cup chicken broth 
  • 1/3 Cup rice wine vinegar
  • 3 Tbsp sugar
  • 1 Tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 Tbsp minced garli
  • 1 Tbsp minced ginger
  • 2 Tbsp cornstarch 

 If any of these sauces seem too thin, feel free to add cornstarch to thicken. About 1 Tbsp at a time. 

These are just a few of the recipes I usually go to when making a stir fry, I think they’re pretty versatile and good to have on hand in a pinch! 

Give them a try and let me know if your family loves them as much as mine does! 

Enjoy,

xo Fran 

 

Comments

  1. Cindie | Parenthood Moments (www.momentsbigandsmall.com) says:

    We love stir fry too, but always use a standard sauce. I am going to try the others! The lemon one sounds yummy!!!

  2. Thank you for this! We make strip fry once a week and these sauces sound incredible!

  3. Thanks for the new recipes! I’ve been making the same sauce for ever and your recipes will be a great and welcomed change to our dinners!

  4. I love stir fry, and the fact that I have a choice of sauces! I had no idea! I always use a soy base and even though it tastes the same I still love it! I will definitely have to pin this for later. Thank you for sharing

  5. Yum! I’m always looking for a good stir fry sauce! Thanks for sharing FOUR of them!

  6. SO GLAD I FOUND THIS POST! I am obsessed with all foods that include lemon! I will need to bookmark this post for my next stir fry meal! πŸ˜€

  7. I want to try the lemon stir fry sauce. These all look delicious.

  8. Don’t judge but we never have stir frys!
    They have always intimidated me!
    This makes things a whole lot clearer, I’m going to bookmark so I can come back to it πŸ™‚

    Although another step by step, stir frys for dummies may also be helpful lolol

  9. That photo has me drooling!
    What’s your recommended sauce for that one?

  10. I will be trying that orange stir fry sauce for tomorrow dinner! Thank you for sharing. Looks amazing πŸ™‚

  11. That looks tempting, will soon try on of your recipes:-)

Leave a Reply

