Midnight Chocolate Mug Cake

Please don’t think the title of this post is exaggerated by any means, because it really isn’t! 

Around here things are pretty busy. Summer has started and so have the family gatherings and fun day trips. T ball is still going strong with swimming lessons set to start this week. With all the daily hustle and bustle I’ve started to plan Frankie’s 4th birthday which is less than a month away. 

With all of this going on I feel like the days fly by, and don’t even get me started on the weekends! 

Sometimes after everyone is in bed, and I’m surrounded by glue and construction paper wondering why I don’t just buy readymade decorations. I like to drown my stress in something sweet! 

Unfortunately after raiding the cupboards, I came up empty handed…. Thanks diet! 

What we did have, we’re all the ingredients for a cake. Hmmmm make a whole cake at 12 am on a Saturday night? (I’ve done it before..)   Tonight was not one of those nights. 

I’ve never tried to make a mug cake before, but I guess there’s a first time for everything. I did take pictures as I went, just incase it turned out well and it really did!! (Excuse the photo quality, but it was late. I’m not lying, literally 12am!)

If you’re stressed and want to treat yourself. Our you just want a quick dessert give this recipe a try. I’ve never really been a fan of mug cakes, but this one has changed my mind!

 I also may have added a scoop of Nutella to the top, why? Because I love Nutella! If I’m gonna treat myself I’m going all the way! 

Midnight Chocolate Mug Cake 

 chocolate mug cake

  • 1/4 Cup all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder 
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 3 Tbsp sugar
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 5 Tbsp milk
  • 2 Tbsp vegetable oil
  1. In a smal bowl mix together all dry ingredients.
  2. Whisk in milk and vegetable oil until all ingredients are well combined and batter has no clumps.
  3. Pour your batter into a microwave safe mug. One that is at least 12 oz. your cake will rise and this will prevent it from pouring over the sides.
  4. I placed a paper towel under the mug just incase it over flowed. Also because I didn’t want to scrub the microwave at midnight….
  5. Microwave on high for 70 seconds.
  6. CAREFULLY REMOVE MUG it will be hot. 
  7. Let sit about a minute and enjoy!

Can’t you just feel all of your stress melting away? I know mine did.

Our weekends may seem busy and hectic, but we’re making new memories and learning new things everyday. I really wouldn’t have it any other way! (Except more sweets in the house, I’d like to change that!)

xo, Fran 

 

Comments

  1. Oh this looks so tasty and perfect for late night chocolate cravings! Even my husband will love this one!

  2. Yum! And Nutella is always a YES!

  3. This is what I need some nights when I’m finally able to sit back after a busy day and relax, what a great treat it’ll be! I’ll definitely work it in to my calorie-counting program!! Thanks for posting!

  4. I need to try this tonight! YAAAS!

  5. Looks delish… Thanks for sharing!!!!

  6. I’m dying !!!! I love this and its something g I would sooooo do hahahha I needed this is my life so awesome. πŸ™‚

  7. Love this! I am a big fan of mug cakes but they are a bit hit or miss in my experience! I’m persevering though πŸ˜‰in fact this is making me want to go and make one right now! X

  8. This is such an easy sweet tooth fix! Looks yummy! =)

  9. How am I just finding out about this now?? Why did I not know this was a thing??

  10. This looks amazing! I’ve been curious about the mug cakes and this might be the push I need to try it! (Not that I need much of a push to eat chocolate anything!) Pinning, thanks for sharing!

  11. I think I’m making that tonight…You made me hungry!

  12. yum, the cake looks good πŸ™‚ by the way, I nominated you for Starlight Blogger Award, click here for details πŸ™‚ https://thesweetandsavorysideofme.wordpress.com/2015/07/08/starlight-blogger-award/

  13. This one is REALLY dangerous!! πŸ˜‰ A little too easy & too delicious….

  14. Oh My Gosh! I love you, seriously! haha. This looks delicious and I want to try it right away. Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

