Copy Cat Costco Muffins

I, like many of you love going to Costco! 

The samples, the deals, the samples, the unique gifts, the samples, the giant jars of nutella, did I mention the samples ??

No visit is complete without heading over to the bakery section and getting some giant muffins!! I can never resist, the double chocolate ones are my favourite !

I always wanted to be able to recreate them at home, but never got it right. Until now!!

Last week at a local grocery store, they had cake mix on sale. I like to keep them on hand for days when Frankie wants to bake and I m not really up to making a big mess. I also like to experiment with them, add or take away different ingredients to see what I can do with a simple box of cake mix.

This time the results were AMAZING!! 

I’m not kidding when I say they taste exactly like the Costco muffins! I’m so glad I finally stumbled upon this recipe (and glad I wrote things down as I went!) 

I will never stop buy the muffins from Costco, but now I’ll be able to whip some copy cats up when the craving strikes! 

Now to just find a giant muffin pan…..

  
Copy Cat Costco Muffins

  • 1 box of chocolate fudge cake mix ( I used Betty Crocker)
  • 1 1/2 cups chocolate chips
  • 2 Tbsp flour
  • 3 eggs room temp
  • 2/3 Cup milk
  • 1/3 Cup vegetable oil
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  1. In a large bowl mix all of your ingredients together until smooth.
  2. Prep muffin pan by spraying with non stick spray. 
  3. Spoon into muffin cups
  4. Bake at 375 for about 20 mins or until tops are lightly browned.

( keep an eye on them, you don’t want to over bake. These babies dry out quickly)

So easy! 

Only takes about half hour in total. Then you are on your way to double chocolate heaven!

xo, Fran 

Comments

  1. YUM! these looks o good right now. Thanks for sharing!!

  2. It looks easy. I’m going to try this recipe for sure

  3. Great post. Really informative, thank you so much x

  4. Joscelyn | Wifemamafoodie says:

    I wish we had a Costco! I’ll take your word for it, because I’ve never had a double chocolate anything that I didn’t like, lol! Must try this soon!! πŸ™‚

  5. You’re taking me back to my childhood! My mom would always buy these and freeze them. So good! Can’t wait to try out the recipe πŸ™‚

  6. I’ve never used a cake mix, but this sounds seriously easy! πŸ˜€

  7. Oh yum! We love costco muffins in our house, I wonder how they would turn out with egg whites and a few other healthy substitutes πŸ˜‰

  8. Looks yummy! I love muffins too.. I could give this a try, seems simple and easy. Thanks for sharing!

  9. Yum yum yum!!!
    Making these 100%!
    That’s my kind of recipe, chocolate and a cake mix πŸ™‚

    Honestly I thought I was the only one who got suckered into the big jars of things Lolol
    I see them and I’m just like “I’m gonna need that” 😍

  10. I LOVE those double chocolate muffins! Great recipe, thanks for sharing!

  11. Um those look absolutely delicious!! I’m on a diet till Sunday, but definitely saving for next week! Thanks for sharing!! xoxox, Kayla http://www.lostgenygirl.com

  12. serenemomblog says:

    Those look so good! I love double chocolate anything, and the fact that they seem easy to make? Bonus!

  13. LOVE this recipe!!! Thanks for sharing!!!

  14. These look AMAZING! I can’t wait to put them on next week’s menu!

  15. I need such easy recipe with five kids. Thanks for sharing.

  16. I am literally drooling on my keyboard!!

Leave a Reply

