Family Favourites #1 Focaccia

Growing up in an Italian family it goes with out saying we love to eat!

Every family gathering was filled with love, laughter, and of course FOOD!

The first thing you’ll always hear when entering the home of any of my family members is “Mangiasti ?” (have you eaten?) I’ve even gotten into the habit of asking whenever family and friends walk through our door.

There are so many recipes that I’ve loved growing up. I wanted to share them with you all and some of the stories that go along with them! All of these recipes literally bring me back to my childhood. I’m excited to share these recipes with you, I hope you enjoy them as much as I have!

The first recipe I’m sharing is the recipe for my Nonna Franca’s Focaccia

My Nonna lives in Italy and used to come to stay with us every 3 or 4 years for a few months. When Nonna was on her way I would always get so excited to see her, and eat all of the amazing food she would always make! Sadly its now been about 7 years since I saw her last, the last time being at my wedding. Lucky for me, she left my mom this recipe and although it’s never quite as good as when she makes it herself, (I always say she has the magic touch!) It’s still delicious and brings me back to my days as a little girl watching her work in the kitchen.

My Mom and I whipped this one up, while talking about family memories, Emilia loved watching from her highchair. I guess we really are doing a good job of passing down the family traditions and starting her young!

Focaccia

  • 1 Cup Warm water
  • 1 pkg  yeast
  • 2 1/2 Cups all purpose flour
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 Cup olive oil + 1 Tbsp + 1 Tbsp
  • 5 0r 6 cherry tomatoes halved
  • 2 Tbsp organo
  • half a small onion, sliced
  1. In a small bowl activate your yeast by adding it to your warm water. Let sit 5 minutes.(I put a pinch of sugar into the mix, just to help it along)
  2. In a large bowl mix together your salt and flour until thoroughly combined, make a “well” in the center of your flour.
  3. Pour your yeast mixture and 1/4 Cup olive oil into your well. begin mixing your dough by hand, until it reaches the consistency of pizza dough (about 5 minutes)
  4. Once dough has reached the proper consistency, grease another large bowl with 1 Tbsp olive oil and transfer dough to that bowl. Rolling the dough around in that bowl until it is coated with the oil.
  5. Cover the dough with plastic wrap and a tea towel, place in a warm place until dough has doubled in size. (about 1 hour)

focaccia dough focaccia dough focaccia dough

After dough has risen : pre heat oven to 350

  1. Grease a 12 inch pan and gently spread out dough to fit to size.
  2. Brush your dough with remaining 1 Tbsp of olive oil, poke holes into your dough making many “dents” in the top.
  3. Top with your oregano, tomato and onion.
  4. Bake for approx. 35 mins or until the top is golden brown.

Once baked, let cool 5 minutes cut into pieces, serve and enjoy!

focaccia

I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I do. I am so excited to share more family recipes with you all in the weeks to come!

xo, Fran

Comments

  1. Ohhh so beautifully made and I love Focaccia bread! My all time favourite x

  2. I need to make this soon! It looks so yummy, and I hope it towns out as good as yours!

  3. Thanks for posting! Looks simple enough to make!!

  4. Oh my – this just looks so beautiful! I LOVE bread. We were just planning to try our a Naan recipe, and now I will have to add this to our list!

  5. OMG this looks so good and simple to make! Thanks for the recipe!

  6. Oops sorry about duplicate post, I didn’t think my other one went through!!

  7. OMG, it looks so delicious! I have to try this (I’ve never eaten focaccia)! I’m going to the kithcen right now! Thanks for sharing!

  8. Looks great.. Good post, got to know you a bit more😊

  9. This is amazing and such like my style !!! I would have never found this awesome recipe without your blog. Thanks so much I’m trying this weekend. 🙂

  10. This Focaccia looks so good! Baking intimidates me a little, but I definitely want to give this a try!

  11. This looks completely amazing. I want to try!

  12. Thanks for sharing your family favorite! It’s so pretty looking!

  13. I need to make this stat!

  14. This looks SO delicious!
    I can almost smell it through the screen, I swear it just looks like a big Italian hug!
    My comfort food is normally pizza but I’m thinking this could be a pizza replacement.
    Bookmarking 🙂

  15. Also Nonna sounds like the sweetest.
    Why does nothing ever turn out as well as Nonnas?! I can never get my grandmothers recipes to perfection like she did, it’s just impossible. They have the Nonna touch 🙂

  16. Looks delicious

Leave a Reply

