Fall Family Traditions 

I Can’t believe September is already here! 

This summer really flew by for us.

With the arrival of fall I always look forward to the many traditions we started when Frankie was born. I love looking back at the photos and seeing how much he changes every year. We have so much fun and make new memories that I know we will all hold in our hearts for years to come!

In September we go apple picking at a local orchard. Nothing beats picking your own apples right off the tree! I love Red delicious apples while Mike goes straight for the Honey Crisps! We’ve been doing this since Frankie was just a month old. The first year mike snapped a candid shot of me walking through the rows of trees with Frankie in my arms. I loved it, and decided it would be fun to recreate it every year and see how he’s grown!  ( You can tell I was pregnant last year from my big butt lol!)

With me only being 5 feet tall, I know it won’t be long until he’s taller than me! I also can’t wait to add Emilia into the picture this year! I look forward to it every year, and always shed a few tears looking back and comparing each one.

  
Frankie makes sure to taste test the apples before we buy them, you know just to make sure….. I’m pretty sure it’s his favourite part! (Mine too!) 

October means a trip to the pumpkin farm! 

As a kid we always got our pumpkins from the local grocery store. Living in the city there wasn’t a farm near by. 

We are so lucky to have a pumpkin farm only 10 minutes from our house. They have a petting zoo, pony rides, hot apple cider, kettle corn and of course tractor rides! On our first visit Frankie was only two months old. It was where we took our first family photo.

  
Of course Frankie slept through that whole visit. It’s now something he looks forward to every year! He marches into that field every year determined to find the perfect pumpkin! 

 

I think as a parent I look forward to these traditions and holidays even more than I did when I was young. I love seeing the excitement on Frankie’s face and all of the fun he has. I get so much joy seeing the smile on his face and hearing the sound of his laughter. 
I can’t wait for Emilia to join in on these traditions this year. I hope they both continue them when they have families of their own. 

Who knows, maybe I’ll have picture of myself walking through the orchard holding my grandchildren one day? 

Do you have any Fall traditions you and your family do every year? I’d love to hear them! 

xo, Fran 

 

Comments

  1. What fun traditions! We’ve never really established a ton of fall traditions here because we live in Southern California and it just doesn’t feel like fall until Thanksgiving…and then we just have holiday traditions! But I love the idea of apple and pumpkin picking every year!

  2. He’s such a cutie! So fun to see how much he’s changed and grown over the years. I love fall too! Bring on the fall activities!

  3. Awesome traditions! A tradition we have is to drink cinnamon tea when it starts getting chilly outside.

  4. So cute! Can’t wait to take my guy to the pumpkin patch and apple orchard this year!

  5. I love all of your families traditions. Your little ones are adorable!

  6. I love recreating photos year after year. The ones of you guys walking through the orchard are precious. This post totally has me excited for fall now.

  7. How fun! I’ve never been apple picking! I can’t wait to start some traditions with my own family.

  8. Beautiful traditions! I am planning to go this october to a pumpkin farm and maybe start my own family traditions :).

  9. Love this! We have been doing pumpkin patches every fall but maybe time to add some other things too:)

  10. justalittlespoonful says:

    After a busy summer, things always slow down a little in the fall. We enjoy the slightly slower pace and some quality family time.

  11. I love your photos! Fall is my favorite season.

  12. Wonderful family traditions…..we started taking the kids on a blueberry picking outing every weekend before the 4th of July when they were toddlers and have continued to this day – one is in college and the other a high schooler! They still clamor for it and we love it…. enjoy every moment, they go by so very fast!

  13. What a sweet family – fall is my favorite time of year (at least it was when I lived up North – LOL)!
    Love that you’re establishing traditions…it’s so very important! We used to go to a local pumpkin patch, too, before the kids got “too old”. ‘Course, I’m much older, too, and I’d STILL like to go!
    Stopping by from the Mom Bloggers Club FB page…

    Thanks for sharing…and have a great weekend!

  14. Love these! Fall is the best and makes me grateful for having 4 seasons. I’m sad to see summer go but there is so much to look forward to in the fall; pumpkin picking and decorating, apple desserts and Halloween are my favorites.

  15. Ahh sounds like so much fun!! I can’t wait! We have a local farm nearby that we love to visit and I can’t wait for their harvest festival and pumpkin patch!

Leave a Reply

