“The Bad Person….”

“Mom, today we had a lockdown!”

(My blood runs cold, I can’t hear anything, I’m literally frozen!)

Me: “You what?”
Frankie ” Ya we practiced, what to do if a bad person came!”

(Ok, now I can breath again..)

He then proceeded to show me how they were told to get into their cubby, sit crossed legged and be very quiet!

“The teacher turns off the lights and locks the door! If the bad person looks into the room they won’t see us!” I guess in light of recent events it was time to review these procedures.

The Bad Person….

Growing up in school we regularly had fire drills, when I was Frankie’s age they really gave me a lot of anxiety. I knew they were just practice and I was safe but they still freaked me out!

I know shootings and abductions still happened back then, For the most part we were pretty sheltered from it. In elementary school my biggest fear was getting lice!
(Seriously, my hair was the same then at it is now and that nit comb really hurts! Also there was now way I was chopping off my hair! Are you crazy!!)

After becoming a mother, I turned into the most paranoid person you’ve ever met! Every stranger was a threat to my family. I would stare down anyone who even looked at my child. 

Neither of my children went to daycare, I was blessed to be able to stay home and care for them.When the day came for Frankie to start school, every worst case scenario ran through my head. Every news story of a lost child, school shooting, bus crash you name it I thought about it!

The world has changed so much since I was younger, it’s still changing everyday! All you have to do is turn on the news every night for your proof. Kids can’t be as sheltered as we once were.

While it sickens me to think of why there is a need for these lockdown drills, I’m so thankful they exist! 

Although, thankfully  he doesn’t seem to give the drills a second thought. 

I wish he went to school in a world where his biggest concern was who he’ll be playing with at recess, instead of learning what to do if The bad person comes. 

I know I might sound delusional, but I wish the world was simpler. I wish the light of many could drown out the darkness of a few. I choose to believe that we can help those in need and put a stop to the horrible things going on in cities and towns just like mine.  

For the sake of our children

xo, Fran 

IMG_0237

Comments

  1. Your son look so cute! These drills are good to prepare them for emergency situations although we don’t have such things in my country…but still i think its really a good thing to protect our young children!

  2. Beautifully written. Honestly one of the reasons why I’m afraid to have kids is because I’m worried I’ll be so paranoid and scared that something will happen to them in this world.

  3. All moms worry. Fact of life.

  4. It is sad that it has come to this as a state. It’s an epidemic now – started when I was in high school with the very first school shooting. It’s unfortunate that this is part of our yearly routine now. But also necessary

  5. I’m similar to you with your thoughts… I wish it were a simpler time were we didn’t have to worry so much, but as our populations grow and cities are filled with people it adds more ‘bad people’… at least we can prepare our children with drills!

  6. You are so lucky you got to stay home with them! My little one is two and I can’t even imagine how much I’ll be worried when she starts school. 😦

  7. thewordhermit says:

    What a different world our kids have been born into. I know kids don’t come with a manual, but I wish someone had told me that I’d be talking with my kids about heroin overdoses, gun violence, teen suicide, sexual harassment, and cyber bullying. It’s painful and I’m with you. I wish the world were simpler.

  8. It is such a shame that this is the reality kids are facing. I am so thankful that schools are being proactive, and tackling these tough issues… but, it still just makes me so sad that they are necessary. Thanks for sharing!

  9. I wish the world could be simpler, too. I worry all the time and are anxiety-ridden about my daughter.

Leave a Reply

