Baked Cheesey Zucchini Fritters

baked zucchini fritters

When your living with a 4  and a half year old that decides he hates a different food everyday and a toddler that’s still trying new foods, finding new ideas can be tough!

So I didn’t find a new idea….. I reused an oldie but a VERY goodie!

I used to make these fritters for Frankie when he was just starting out on his “food adventures!” Now he doesn’t even flinch when I put them in front of him, often asking for 3rds and 4ths! Try putting something that actually resembles a zucchini in front of him…. Ya Right!! Good luck with that!

As for Emilia, she’ll inhale everything put in front of her! #blessed lol (for now anyway)

I on the other hand like to put my own spin on this. Instead of the usual bite sized portions I usually make for the kids. I make myself a large sized patty and top it with a fried egg! Hello delicious and complete breakfast!

I’ve substituted the zucchini with steamed broccoli and even added some shredded carrots to the mix as well!

No matter what way you prefer, this recipe is an excellent way to eat your veggies.

(Maybe even without knowing it!)

Baked Cheesey Zucchini Fritters

  • 1 1/2 Cups shredded zucchini, peel on. (about 1 large zucchini)
  • 1 Large egg, beaten
  • 1/2 Cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1/4 Cup bread crumbs
  • 1/4 tsp dried parsley
  • 1/4tsp garlic powder
  • 1/8 tsp onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp pepper

pre heat oven to 425, grease a large baking sheet

  1. Shred your zucchini. Place the shredded zucchini in a clean dish towel and twist to wring out the excess water, until zucchini is very dry. (Don’t use paper towel, seriously I’ve tried! It will rip apart and end terribly!)
  2. In a large bowl, combine all ingredients including your zucchini. Mix well until combined.
  3. Drop tablespoon sized portions on your baking sheet about an inch apart. flatten your piles own a little to form little patties.
  4. Bake for 15 minutes, or until the edges and tops are golden brown.

Enjoy!

xo, Fran

 

Comments

  1. I’ll have to try these with my fickle 5 year old and toddler. Thanks of the great recipe.

  2. What a fun & healthy snack to have!
    Kari
    http://www.sweetteasweetie.com

  3. Ok, my toddler drives me nuts. If I present him with zucchini, it would be thrown from the high chair. If I present him with zucchini fitters, he will gobble them down. Toddlers eh?! These look fab!

  4. these look so good! I love zucchini everything! I’m definitely making these and I don’t even have a toddler 🙂

  5. confettiandbliss says:

    These Baked Cheesy Zucchini Fritters look amazingly delicious! I love all the ingredients. I think these would make perfect appetizers for spring parties. 🙂

  6. the preserves project says:

    Yum! We make something similar to this and we all love them. I also make a version with broccoli!

  7. This looks like such a great zucchini fritter recipe, thank you for sharing! I can’t wait to try it!

  8. Wow, this sounds delicious. I think my older kids would love this too.

Leave a Reply

