Caprese Bread

caprese bread

Spring has finally arrived!!

This gorgeous weather has me dreaming about my favorite summer time foods. Who doesn’t love a delicious Caprese salad?

While it’s not quite time for a picnic on our patio, I decided to put a little summertime spin on lunch last weekend.

What’s better to kick up a boring old sandwich than yummy, flavorful, freshly made bread? This bread will add a summertime  feel to any lunch. It’s seriously perfect for dipping in your fave soup, accompanying your salad and even dipping in the yolk of your fried egg!

You don’t need a bread maker to pull this off. Just your oven and a little (VERY LITTLE!) prep time!

  • 2 1/4 Cups flour
  • 3 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 Cup mozzarella cheese cubed (1 half inch pieces)
  • 1/3 Cup chopped sun dried tomatoes
  • 2 Tbsp chopped fresh basil
  • 2 Large eggs
  • 2 1/2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 1/4 Cup buttermilk

preheat  oven to 350, grease an 8×9″ loaf pan

  1. In a large bowl combine flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt.
  2. Add basil, cheese, and sun dried tomatoes. Mix well.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk together the eggs, oil and buttermilk.
  4. Pour the liquid mixture into the dry ingredients. Mix until well combined. (the dough will be very sticky)
  5. Spread the dough evenly into your prepared loaf pan.
  6. Bake for 40 to 45 mins. (until golden brown and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.)
  7. Let cool 10 mins before removing from pan

caprese bread

Enjoy!

xo, Fran

 

Comments

  1. I do enjoy a caprese salad and I love bread so I could see myself eating this caprese bread. I have never made bread but I would give this a try for sure. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Caprese salads are my favourite summer meal! You are telling me that I can have thw flavours and also eat bread? Um, what’s the catch? Just shared it and will try it on the weekend!

  3. Caprese is my all time fave salad so I def have to try this! Sounds yummy!

  4. I’m making a butterbean, bacon & parsnip soup tonight – this is the perfect accompaniment – thank you!

  5. the preserves project says:

    This sounds sooo good…trying it soon!

  6. This looks delicious!

  7. This sounds absolutely delicious! I’m dreaming of summer picnics, too, and splashing in the pool with my little ones. We will have to give this a try – thanks!

  8. Oh my word. My favorite salad in a bread, what could be better?!! I must try this maybe this weekend!

Trackbacks

  1. […] trip to the grocery store. I had some asparagus to use, some left over sun dried tomatoes from the Caprese Bread  I had made this week, as well as a 1/4 Cup of ricotta cheese. So I just threw it all together […]

Leave a Reply

