Chocolate Pound Cake + Fudge Glaze

I think it’s pretty much a given that chocolate and Valentines Day go hand in hand!

I can tell you from experience that if you give me chocolate I’ll definitely be your friend! If that chocolate comes in the form of cake….. Well then you just guaranteed yourself a new bff!

This classic chocolate pound cake is perfect for any time of year. The glaze gives it an extra fudgey, rich finishing touch that is absolutely amazing! Top with your favorite berries to add a festive feel and dig in to this dessert with your Valentine!

chocolate pound cake

  • 1 1/4 Cups flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 Cup sour cream
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/3 Cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 3/4 Cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 Cup sugar
  • 4 Large eggs,beaten

Glaze

  • 1/2 Cup semi sweet chocolate chips
  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • 2 tsp corn syrup

Pre heat oven to 350 and grease a loaf pan

  1. In a large bowl, combine flour, salt, baking powder and baking soda mix until well combined. Set aside
  2. In a small bowl mix together sour cream, vanilla and cocoa powder. Set aside.
  3. In a large bowl beat together butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add your eggs one at a time.
  4. Then add half of your flour mixture, combine well. Add your sour cream mixture, mix well. Then add remaining flour mixture. Mix until well combined.
  5. Pour into your prepared loaf pan and spread evenly. Bake for 60 to 65 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the centre comes out clean.
  6. Let cake cool about 20 minutes before removing from pan, then allow to finish cooling on a wire rack

Chocolate glaze

  1. Combine your glaze ingredients in a small sauce pan. Cook on low heat, constantly stirring until smooth. Pour over your cake evenly allowing the glaze to drip down the sides.
  2. Top with berries or sprinkles of your choice!

Seriously, every chocolate lovers dream!

I would definitely be someone’s valentine if they made me this cake!

Enjoy,

Fran

Comments

  1. My hubby is a huge chocolate fan!! I should make this for him for sure!

  2. This is perfect. Literally perfect. Exactly what I was looking for. Thanks.

  3. Oh my.. this looks amazing! I need to give this a try! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  4. Woa! This looks delicious! I just want to put my hand in the screen and take a bite!

  5. Wowww so yummy it looks…I want to eat them right now 😦

  6. You had me at chocolate! This looks soooo good!

  7. This looks so delicious! And perfect for Valentine’s day!

    xo, Amanda | http://www.thegoldengirldiary.com

  8. This looks so sinful! Perfect for Valentine’s Day! I might make this for the hubby for Valentine’s Day as he loves chocolate!

  9. This looks so yummy! I’m not much of a baker but I’m looking forward to trying this recipe for Valentine’s Day 🙂 Thank you for sharing!

  10. this looks delicious!

  11. I love pound cake. I’ve never tried a chocolate one, it sounds delicious.

  12. Yummy, This looks so good. I love pound cake.

  13. Love pound cake. This looks yummy.

  14. This looks like the dessert I should make for my hubby for Valentines Day!

  15. I love pound cake but I’ve never had chocolate!

  16. This looks like the perfect desert for a Valentine’s Day dinner

  17. I’m drooling. And right there with you…anyone can go ahead and make me this, and I’ll definitely be their valentine 🙂

  18. babiestobookworms says:

    Yum! This looks delicious! What a great treat for Valentine’s Day.

  19. Oh my goodness. That looks so good! I need it in my belly!

  20. YUM! This looks so delicious. Definitely saving this one.

  21. jeeyoung | life + style says:

    I always love your recipes but this is so perfect for Vday! So yummy!

  22. This looks delicious! I cannot wait to try it!

  23. It’s so pretty and the fudge glaze looks heavenly. Can’t wait to try it in my kitchen!

  24. This will be a great Vday treat for the whole family…or maybe just me depending on when it comes out of the oven lol

  25. This looks outstanding. The strawberry garnish would be great, too.

  26. seblackston1215 says:

    This looks delicious! I’m definitely going to give this a try. I pinned it to my Sweets board!

  27. I just love chocolate and this looks delicious! might try making this one day!

  28. This looks like a dream come true! I have to try this out sometime soon.

  29. Do I have to share with my Valentine? Maybe I can use this as a “pre-game” Valentine dessert and eat it alone in the closet. lol Sounds DELICIOUS!

  30. oh man that looks very tasty!!

  31. Incredible recipe, looks yummy!

  32. This looks awesome.

Trackbacks

  1. […] Chocolate Pound Cake + Fudge Glaze- The Hungry Homemaker […]

Leave a Reply

