Berry Torte

Berry Torte
This beautiful weather has me dreaming of summer.

Dinners outside and fresh fruit, are a must in our family once the warm weather hits!

After dinner, of course there’s dessert!!

This super simple torte combines all of the flavors of summer. With Easter and Mother’s Day quickly approaching, it would be the perfect addition to a dessert table!

You can substitute the berries for whichever ones you prefer. In our house Strawberries and blueberries are the favorites!

Berry Torte

  • 3/4 Cup sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/3 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 pound berries of your choice. sliced
  • powdered sugar for garnish (optional)
  1. Preheat oven to 475 and grease a 9 inch round cake pan or spring form pan.
  2. Using a mixer, beat your eggs, sugar and vanilla on medium for approx 3 mins.
  3. Sift your flour into the egg mixture and gently mix until the batter is combined.
  4. Fold in your berries until combined, try not to over mix. Pour into your prepared pan.
  5. Bake your cake for 5 minutes at 400, then lower the oven temp to 350 and continue to bake for an additional 30 mins. (or until golden brown and a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean)
  6. Allow cake to cool before removing it from the pan.
  7. Sift on your icing sugar before serving.

This cake is delicious alone, but even better with some whipped cream. Hey how about a scoop of ice cream??  Why not treat yourself!

Enjoy,

Fran

 

Comments

  1. Well I’m a blueberries fan, so…. 🙂

  2. Torts are so quick and easy to make and the fun part is adding any of combine different fruits to make one.

  3. This looks so easy! I love fresh berries but during the winter I always have some frozen in our freezer.

  4. What a beautiful, simple recipe! It’s perfect for Spring and Summer!

  5. collegeceliackc says:

    Perfect recipe as it gets closer to berry season! I would load this baby up with blueberries!

  6. Kimberly @ Berly's Kitchen says:

    Anything with berries makes a great dessert in my opinion. This sounds wonderful and would be awesome during the summer.

  7. I LOVE fruit tortes! This sounds so great! I am a sucker for anything with fresh berries in it.

  8. Wow, for such a simple recipe, this looks so good! I could totally have this for breakfast, right?!

  9. maryjane says:

    This looks delicious (and easy enough for me lol)! I can’t wait until I have fresh berries from the garden to cook with 🙂 Cheers, Mary Jane

  10. Sarah Burkert says:

    wow, looks delicious! I wanna make this!

  11. So simple, but so beautiful! I want to make this now!! To the store I go…

  12. This looks so amazing and easy too! Yum!! Can’t wait to try it out.

  13. Salivating! Looks delish!

  14. featherflint says:

    I have never heard of torts before – which seems crazy! It’s such a simple recipe but turns into something so delicious – I’ll have to try it out next time I’m in a baking mood!

  15. Looks delicious!

  16. Omg! My mouth is watering! Looks so delish!
    http://www.thebbar.org

  17. I love that this doesn’t seem difficult and looks delicious!

  18. OMG. This looks so good!

  19. This looks so good! I might make this for Easter brunch…that works right? It has fruit in it, so it’s at least a little healthy! 🙂

  20. Mouth is watering!! Yum!!

  21. This looks delicious! I bet it would be good with any berry, yum!

  22. babiestobookworms says:

    Yum! This looks delicious! I love berry desserts!

  23. Looks very yummy! Yes, an ice cream scoop will definitely perk it up 😀

  24. This looks delicious and so pretty! Yum.

  25. This Torte looks delicious! The perfect dessert to serve after a nice dinner, or as a special tea time snack. I will definitely be trying this recipe.

  26. Oh my this looks amazing! I have a bunch of berries from the farmers market I gotta use too!

  27. I can’t wait for berry season myself… my favorite fruits looks so sad in the grocery store over the winter. I will definitely try this recipe, my family would love it!

  28. This looks super simple and delicious! I normally do a berry cobbler, but I’ll have to try this next time instead! Pinning for later!

  29. itsahero says:

    Girl. This is seriously IMPRESSIVE!!

  30. I’ve never made a torte at home before, but you make it look so easy ! Looks darn delicious too!

  31. This looks so delicious. Maybe I’ll make it for Easter.

  32. What a unique recipe! I’m definitely going to have to give this one a try–thanks!

  33. Oh my goodness, this looks incredible!

  34. I want to try this this weekend!!

  35. Very lovely pics and recipe! 🙂

Leave a Reply

