Mother’s Day Lunch Recap

For the last few years, Mike and I decided we would host Mother’s Day. Usually my Mom and Mother in law divide up the holidays and host them.

I hated the thought of them working and serving us kids, on the one day that was meant to celebrate them! This year held even more sentimental value, since it would be our last gathering at our house, before we move.

I’m going to be completely honest with you.

This year my prep was surrounded with chaos! I had a completely different backdrop that came crashing down the night before. Ripping and crumpling everything on it except those balloons!

simple mothers day backdrop

So, thank goodness for my hording! I had found this wrapping paper I had originally bought on boxing day for 50% off! I picked it up looked at Mike and said “I can probably use this for something….” Boy did it ever come in handy!

I made those paper flowers using one of the many tutorials on Pinterest and Voila! A cute Backdrop for under $10!

I was so lucky to have teamed up with Joonie and Joe party shop! Their cups, straws, plates and cutlery from their Goddess collection added the perfect finishing touches to the table!

The gold, and rose pink added the perfect feminine touches, while the marble plates gave everything a more formal feel! (without the fear of breakable plates!)

mothers day

Through social media I’ve connected with some amazing local ladies who are the most talented bakers I’ve ever met! These adorable cupcakes are by Cupcakes and Studmuffins  Can we talk about that gold leaf detail! Those beautiful cookies were made by Dream Day Party Events & Co I’ve never seen cookies so beautiful! The attention to detail is amazing! With both desserts I left the finished products to them. I told them the color scheme and these are what they came with!  They were almost too good to eat, I say almost because I was left with zero sweet treats by the time everyone left. Safe to say they were delicious!

mothers day

I finished the table off with a white table cloth, and by alternating some gold and pink large doilies to act as a runner down the table. Again a simple idea from my hoard!

We served a delicious lunch from the grill with delicious sides and my Moscato Wine Punch !mothers day

I think people get so caught up with making things “picture perfect” and I definitely panicked when all my hard work came crashing down! Honestly what that day taught me was less is definitely more.

No matter what the table looked like, or how the food tasted. It was about showering the ladies we love most with our love and appreciation!

(But everything did look pretty good, if I do say so myself….)

xo,

Fran

 

Comments

  1. Oh my gosh this is so great! I’ll have to keep this idea in mind for next year!

  2. raracheckman says:

    I love the look you created here! What a great way to celebrate Mother’s Day! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

