Story time + Little Voice book review

We’ve been reading to both of our children since before they were born. Frankie loves story time and will sit and listen to the same story over and over. I am definitely a book lover, whenever I get a chance you’ll usually find me cuddled up with a book and a cup of tea! So story time is right up my alley.

We are proof that reading to your children helps develop early speaking and reading skills. Frankie started putting words together before he was a year old, and at just 4 he’s been able to read sentences and new words for a while now. I hope Emilia also inherits a love for reading! 

Even when we get busy and we may not get a chance to do it throught the day, there is always story time before bed. It’s a time when we can sit, relax and spend some quality time together in the evening. The books we choose are usually up to Frankie. (Usually something to do with superheroes) I do like to mix in books that can teach a life lesson or he can learn something new from.

I discovered a new book called Little Voice while scrolling through Instagram. 

  
It was written by Amanda Bernardo and beautifully illustrated by Samantha Clusiau-Lawlor.  

Little Voice has an amazing message inside its beautiful pages. 

The message: We all have that little voice inside of us. The one that tells us to be ourselves. It tells us to celebrate our differences, what we’re good at, what we love and everything that makes us…. Us! 

In a world where these days everyone wants to look, dress and act like everyone else, Little Voice is teaching little ones to be different! 

When I found this book, I was excited to read it to Frankie. I was hoping to inspire him and help let him see that just being himself is amazing! After reading it to him, I was inspired myself!

I wish that this book was around when I was growing up. I didn’t have very high self confidence and still struggle with it to this day. Frankie is a pretty confident kid but I’m glad that this book exists to help reinforce the message to be who he is and be proud of himself. 

As a parent, you really notice all of the negative influences and messages out there for kids to see. I try my best to fight them, but it’s good to know there are people out there that are helping fight all the negative with a great positive message like this one.

Please do yourselves a favour and check it out. For your little ones and for yourselves! 

You can find out more about the book and its creators at http://littlevoicethebook.com

Also follow along with the latest news and updates on Instagram: https://instagram.com/littlevoicebook/

It really is great and I’m so happy to have found it! 

xo, Fran

(I was sent a digital copy of this book for review and at no cost to myself. As always my opinions are honest and my own.) 

Comments

  1. Sounds cute! I’m a children’s librarian always looking for new books for storytime. What ages would you say this book works for?

  2. I completely agree with you on the benefits of reading to children. My nephew hasn’t been read to much and he’s going to turn 6 and had trouble expressing himself verbally. Preferred method of parenting is to stick him in front of the TV watching DVD after DVD.

    • It’s so true! We let Frankie watch tv sometimes but he really does prefer to play with his toys instead. He has such an amazing imagination and I think reading to him has a lot to do with it! A lot of people don’t realize how much of an affect it has on children!

  3. Sounds soo cute!

  4. This book looks like it is perfectly timed for back to school when children are tackling new challenges and making new friends. Looking forward to reading it with my little ones!

  5. What a cute little book!!! 🙂

  6. Currently all our books have to involve cars/trucks/trains or planes to hold my son’s interest, but this one seems like it’ll be perfect in a year or two, once he’s in school. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a comment