Santa’s Favorite Vanilla Cookies

Vanilla Cookies
Our family has a well guarded secret, but since we’re all friends here… I’ll let you in on it!

These are Santa’s favorite cookies!

Seriously, they are amazing!

I promise if you whip up a few of these, you’re guaranteed to be on the nice list!

That is of course, if you have any left over for the jolly old guy. These cookies are so soft and chewy, you might not be able to control yourself!

They’re quick and easy to make and would be perfect for a cookie exchange with friends, holiday get together, or hiding from your kids in the laundry room and stuffing your face…. no? Just me? Ok….

  • 1 Cup of butter, softened
  • 1 1/3 Cup of white sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 tsp vanilla ext
  • 2 3/4 Cups all purpose flour
  1. pre heat your oven to 350 and grease two large baking sheets
  2. In a large bowl, mix your butter until fluffy and then add 1 Cup of your sugar, mix until combined. Then add the remaining sugar
  3. Add your egg, vanilla, and salt. Mix until just combined. Add your flour to the mixture one third at a time. Your dough will look crumbly.
  4. Using your hands press and knead dough until it forms into on big mass.
  5. Taking 1 tbsp of dough at a time roll into balls and place them 1 inch apart on your baking sheet.
  6. Gently flatten cookies with either a fork or drinking glass and top with sprinkles of your choice.
  7. Bake 10-12 minutes or until cookies begin to brown along the edges.
  8. Let cool on baking sheet.

We’ve started some family traditions of our own over the past few years and these cookies have become a Christmas Eve staple in our house!

Enjoy,

Fran

Comments

  1. your recipes are always on point girl! these sound delicious. i actually have all of these ingredients and may make these today!

  2. Santa’s favorite or my favorite?! These look SO easy and yummy. Love that there isn’t a ton of ingredients to make a yummy festive cookie!

  3. Making these today! I bake a new batch of cookies every day for the month of December leading to Christmas to send with my husband to give his Soldiers. I’m literally feeding an Army lol. Anyway, I am always running out of ideas and these look simple and perfect!

  4. These look so good. Vanilla cookies are my fave!!

  5. I love baking around the holidays. I love recipes that will fill your house with the scents of sugary goodness. I’ll definitely add this recipe to the mix. Happy holidays!

    http://www.prettyyellowthings.com

  6. Sarah Louise says:

    Love your milk and cookies set! Those are too cute and the cookies look delicisous! 🙂

  7. natashasean says:

    These look delicious! Will have to add them to my holiday lineup 😉

  8. These take like NO ingredients — I’m so stoked! Haha, definitely whipping up a batch tonight while we {finally} put up our tree!

    -Clarissa @ The View From Here

  9. These look so delicious and easy to make! Plus I have all the ingredients in my pantry so I think I’ll make these with my kids tonight! Thanks for sharing this recipe! 🙂

  10. I saw this recipe just in time! We are making sugar cookies and decorating them for a playdate tomorrow. This looks easy and tasty.

  11. these sound so good! Can’t wait to try these myself for Santa. but of course I’ll need to see about adding in a lil dab of bourbon 😉

  12. Making these with my kiddos this week!!! So good… I am a little of a cookie addict!

  13. Yummy!! That looks so good! Santa will love these.

  14. Yum! I’ve always wanted to make vanilla cookies but never had a good recipe. Have to try this one!

  15. This recipe looks so yummy. I can see why they’d be Santa’s fave. These look super fast and easy. Excited to try them. Just in time for the holidays!

  16. I absolutely LOVE vanilla anything and I love how easy these look to make! Sounds like the perfect combo to me! thanks for sharing this!

  17. I love simple cookies like this! Reminds me so much of cookies we had as kids. Perfect as base when you want to get creative too 🙂

  18. Oh yum!! These look so good!!! I just love soft cookies. I need to try this out.

  19. Oh my gosh, forget Santa- I’m pretty sure these are going to be MY favorite vanilla cookies! They sound awesome.

  20. I’m always searching for the “Perfect” vanilla (sugar) cookie. One that is soft, chewy, and delicious. I’m going to be trying this recipe for sure. Thanks for sharing!

  21. Yum! So simple and delicious. Santa’s a lucky guy 😉

  22. simplyelliott says:

    So simple! I may makes these tonight since they look so yummy!

Leave a comment